Accidental Resolutions

I might have unconsciously made new year’s resolutions. Didn’t mean to. Specifically didn’t consciously do it. But, oddly, I find myself doing new things.

For instance, my workplace offers a fitness reimbursement every year and usually I don’t use it. That’s kind of dumb; it’s free money. So, with the new year, I started looking at ways I could spend it. Martial arts classes are covered, and I happened to find an online course on tai chi for people with arthritis. So I’m trying that.

I hit a low in December and found myself dissatisfied with my 12-step practice. It’s a recurring theme for me that I have trouble staying connected to my Higher Power when not in crisis. Someone recommended Insight Timer to help with meditation, and I’ve been trying that out. I’ve also decided to start over at Step One.

My workplace has a wellness hub that rewards members for completing “journeys” - any of several series of tiny daily lessons or insights to help get more wellness. They focus on getting better sleep, walking for fitness, saving money - all sorts of topics. I am taking one about rediscovering play, and one of the steps in the journey was to rediscover the play I like best, which for me is dancing. That involves a commitment to dance at least 15 minutes per day. Well that same journey actually included dancing at a later step. I’ve been grazing YouTube for dance adventures around 15 minutes or less that I can do whenever.

I am making a breakfast of navy beans and brown rice with strawberry jam and pumpkin pie spice. I put instant coffee into my goat’s milk.

It’s madness around here!