Not Range Day After All

I’m actually sleeping with guns tonight. Not because I’m nervous, but because there’s no room!

I meant to get down to the range today, but when I busted everything out, I was reminded that some things were needed. The shotgun needed magazines, and one of the rifles needed a spare mag. That rifle also didn’t even come with barrel sights; you’re expected to put a scope on. I had a few targets, but not many. Unhappy with one of the pistol cases. So I made a trip down to the huntin’ and fishin’ store.

It was ka-ray-zee. Only two people working the counter and lots of people waiting for service. I overheard some senior citizens talking about whether to go to the Capitol next week or not. Seems not. Financial issues. I overheard a clerk say they sold seven guns in two hours. Said they can’t keep them in stock. They routinely sell everything the moment it arrives, these days.

Finally my turn and I asked about a scope, naming the make and model of the rifle. Clerk looked at me like I was out of my mind and said he needed to know more, but nevermind that, what else did I need. Magazines for my shotgun of a specific make and model. Again with the look. Shotguns don’t take magazines. Well, there’s a rectangular hole in mine and the manual is going on about a magazine, so who knows what to tell you. Oh, yes, they take a box magazine but the store didn’t have any. That was an answer that made sense to me. And as it turns out, a bunch of merchants online are out of stock on them too.

He asked me to go get the rifle I want to put a scope on, just be sure to take the bolt out before bringing it in, so I did that. I was whining and complaining about there being no barrel sight and what’s with all this scope nonsense anyway, and he said if I didn’t want a scope I could have a red dot sight.

He quickly stuck a demo one on my rifle and I loved it immediately. That is for me! Heck yeah!

He was completely mystified why I wouldn’t want a scope. I explained that for one thing I wasn’t raised shooting with scopes. And for another thing, I wear bifocals. The more lenses you pile on top of my glasses the more pain the ass the whole thing becomes. It’s something I’m willing to put up with watching boats go up and down the waterway with binoculars, but I’ll be damned if I’m fooling with all that when I’m trying to shoot.

On the way back I got stuck in a massive traffic jam. They’ve been putting down some pipes in the ditches and the crew is now working on a piece of highway that squeezes between a bay and a huge nature preserve, so there’s no alternate routes. You just have to creep through and hope you make it home by bedtime.

I had an enormous headache by the time I got home, plus there were a lot of other issues going on that have nothing do to with guns or firearm accessories. Mostly things relating to squabbling dogs and my own damn clumsiness. Long and short, all my guns and assorted related items are all over the house. I’ve cleared enough bed for me to sleep on and the ammo is locked away. The guns have their locks in and are snuggled in their cases. I’m ready to tuck me in too.

Maybe I can make it to the range tomorrow. Hope it’s not crowded.