Divided Me

I feel so … dysphoric? is that the word? … about the Capitol riot. Things don’t match for me.

Ideologically, I am on the opposite side of the spectrum from the insurrectionists. I care about the rule of law and due process, so much so that I didn’t even consider overthrowing the last President when he was elected, despite my dire concerns. Because, for better or worse, I swore to uphold the Constitution. And the Constitution was how we got him.

Culturally, though, those are my people. Those are my people. Alleged conservatives. Good ole boys. I come from “heritage, not hate”. I come from “country boy can survive”. I come from “don’t tread on me”, opposition to “Yankee aggression”, “war between the states”, “Adam and Eve, not Adam and Steve”. Etc.

So, watching the videos of the insurrection, part of my mind is going, “Oh man, this is all effed up. What do they think they are doing? That’s so dangerous!” And the other part of my mind is seeing brothers and cousins engaged in horseplay. Goofing around and having a high old time.

Intellectually, I’m appalled. Emotionally, I’m amused. And I do not like this disconnect. Not at all.